Posted by: Rowan | May 25, 2009

The trouble with geeks

Here’s a YouTube video presaging the internet from a 1969 movie clip (purportedly at least, and I have few reasons to doubt it):

They weren’t actually far off with the technology in terms of what it does – end to end transactions and all that. Glad I don’t have to use those big clunkers though, I’d need something the size of an aircraft hangar to do what I want to do now. And I’m quite happy with the humble interface I use to do that stuff already.

They didn’t anticipate the social mores changing underneath them though when they made their pitch, did they? That’s the trouble with geeks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

